I’m leaving in less than one month – can you believe it? It’s been over a year since I applied to the Peace Corps. An incredibly long process, but the time to depart is almost here. I’ve been trying to figure out what I am going to pack and I’m absolutely flummoxed. Coming from New England, I’m used to cold weather and air conditioning when it gets hot. How am I supposed to figure out what to pack for an incredibly hot and humid environment? Of course I’m worried that I will bring all of the wrong things, but I know that I have to just say c’est la vie and hope for the best. I’m so excited for this new adventure to start. To be able to meet all these new, wonderful people. To experience and learn about a diverse culture that I have little experience with. And maybe make a difference? I know I can’t change the world, but I hope that I can make even a little difference to one person’s life. I certainly know that the people I will be working with in Guyana, as well as my host family will make an impact on me.
Au revoir for now,
Kyera

Leave a Reply

